Song of the Week #10: ‘Cold’ by Black Country Communion

If I’m honest, I am terrible at blogging. Don’t get me wrong, when I get around to it, I’m top class. I mean, completely brilliant, if I do say so myself. But my ability to make time, be bothered and get my brain into gear enough to formulate amazing sentences that ‘break the internet’ just doesn’t come easily. It’s tough after being so brilliant all the damn time though, it’s a tiring burden!

Anyway, today is the beginning of the influx of blog posts, such as you have not seen before. If I’m being honest, the next few are going to be lying to you. My song of the week section is about to receive a boost of 6 new entries in the space of one week. In fact, within one night, just in order to catch up. So, while I will attempt to ensure they are kept as accurate as possible based upon my recent listening habits, realistically I am assuming most of you shall remain ignorant of the fact that I am cheating. If you do in fact notice, or perhaps you are reading this now in which case my whole charade is ruined before it begins, then I ask you to please maintain the pretence that I am in fact not cheating, else I may be subjected to trolling on Twitter (the most first world, twenty-first century concern ever).

Moving on! The honour of Song of the Week #10 on Ben’s Bubble’s highly regarded list is ‘Cold’ by Black Country Communion. In my opinion, the splitting of the Black Country Communion was a tragic loss to music. I honestly believe that, if the music they released had been to a different generation, most likely the 1970s during the Led Zeppelin era, BCC’s music would be regarded as some of the most influential ever released. Unfortunately, it has been released in an age where Kanye West believes he is a rock star, so it is lost upon deaf ears.

This is ‘Cold’ performed live and released for their Live Over Europe DVD album:

It isn’t their catchiest song, neither is it their best. But the lyrics are brilliant and Glenn Hughes’ delivery is emotionally perfect. I’m a huge fan of Joe Bonamassa’s work also, and his usual bluesy style of guitar playing is on show here. Black Country Communion justified their title of ‘supergroup’; they compromised Glenn Hughes’ vocals and bass, Joe Bonamassa’s guitars, Jason Bonham’s drums and Derek Sherinian on keyboards, all of whom had great levels of prior success. The fact that their music was great shouldn’t be surprising, but the fact they didn’t continue to do so past three albums is shocking.

‘Cold’ as a song talks about those we have loved and lost and struggling to come to terms with such loss, without having a chance to say goodbye. It’s an emotional ballad style rock song that only Glenn Hughes could have wrote. I only wish I could have seen Black Country Communion live before they too ceased to be alive.

See more songs of the week

Leave a Reply

