Star Wars FTW

original trilogy posters

Over the course of the last week, I’ve rewatched the original Star Wars trilogy, and it turns out I’d forgotten just how brilliant they are! It was quite a shock when one day my lovely girlfriend Ellie turned round and requested that we watch them because she hadn’t before and felt left out. Any excuse to watch them again was fine by me, and it was the first time I would be watching my bluray collection (go geek squad!)

It turns out Ellie loves them too. She missed out all this time! I must say I’m glad because apathy can be tolerated, but a failure to like them after watching them might just have spelled the end of our relationship. She’ll read this and think, “oh, he doesn’t mean it, he’s just joking because he thinks he’s funny with his blog…”. I’m serious. You better be thankful that you think R2D2 is cute, Ellie!

I can imagine that the special effects must have looked amazing at the time, even if they are dated. But it’s irrelevant really, they’re still fantastic because of the humour, the imaginative futuristic (but somehow in the past) world, and the brilliance of the storyline. If the *SPOILER ALERT* Darth Vader to Luke, “I am your father” moment isn’t iconic cinema, then I don’t know what is.

Ellie’s favourites are the two droids, R2D2 and C3PO because of their ‘banter’ (sorry, but it’s the best word for the situation). I must agree simply because I think it’s genius that two characters can be so good when one just beeps and the other one is irritating. I like Han Solo and Chewbacca for similar reasons – Chewy just makes the noise and Han translates with his replies. If, when we watch the prequel trilogy, Ellie decides that in fact Jar-Jar is her favourite character, we might yet have relationship troubles. All in due course… You be bloody careful Ellie.

Overall, the trilogy is the best I can think of. A lot of people would say that Lord of the Rings is great, which it is. But for me Star Wars is best. Back to the Future is also pretty damn good, but nothing comes close to for me. Star Wars FTW.

Leave a Reply

