The Boy Who Lived

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Not the best story in the series, but it gets extra credit just for being the first book to introduce the magic of Harry Potter and Hogwarts. There’s no other book in the world that comes close to being that good.

View all my reviews

Question: Is Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone the greatest book ever written? It’s certainly up there with the best of them.

Sure, there are some true classics out there that a book like Harry Potter can’t hope to compete with in terms of writing style, eloquence and depth of detail etc etc blah blah. But Harry Potter is without doubt the most magical series ever written and the Philosopher’s Stone is the introduction to the wizarding world that you’ll never forget once read. No Shakespeare borefest can compete with J K Rowling’s imagination, that’s for sure. Harry Potter is brilliant. End of.

I’ve just finished re-reading it for the umpteenth time and it never gets old or boring. You know what’s going to happen, but that doesn’t mean it loses its magic. It’s the reading equivalent of watching Friends. No matter how many times you see them, no matter whether or not you can literally quote the next line, they’ll still be brilliant.

And that’s why it’s so good. Harry Potter is timeless, unique and I strongly doubt that any series as brilliant shall appear in my lifetime.

Remember the first covers? They might look more modern now, but original is best
Remember the first covers? They might look more modern now, but original is best

I’ve still got my original copies of each book, all in hardback, all intact (although somewhat scuffed and faded from overuse and sunlight). I doubt I’ll ever get rid of them. My great-grandchildren shall most likely inherit them as dusty old things, but I hope they’re still as good then as they are now. I can’t imagine a world where children don’t have Harry Potter, and yet I was part of that first generation!

Imagine now having Harry Potter? I genuinely can’t comprehend it. They’re the books that made me want to read more books, and the books that I return to re-read almost religiously. I doubt it’s a cycle that will ever cease.

It’s the greatest series of books ever written.

Leave a Reply

