SPECIAL EDITION: Songs of the Week #4, #5 & #6

Hello there! In true frustrating-as-fuck fashion, as seen in all American TV shows, I apparently took a winter break. Unlike in the US, I didn’t plan to do so, it just sort of… happened. My apologies to those regular readers who have missed my usual nonsense; normal service shall henceforth be resumed hereafter following a rather busy festive period. A whole new year of ridiculousness and pointlessness awaits!

First of all, I should resume with the critically acclaimed weekly series that you all love so much, my Song of the Week segment! This week article is extra special as it shall include three weeks of songs, my treat to all you loyal followers (and not at all related to the fact that I forgot to keep this blog up to date over Christmas, whatsoever). Look, I was busy with work and getting fat and being spoiled and all that shit that you do over Christmas, ‘kay? Jeez.

SONG OF THE WEEK #4: ‘I Wanna Get Lost With You’ by Stereophonics

I’m a huge Stereophonics fan, although I must admit I wasn’t overly impressed by their ‘Keep Calm and Carry On’ album from back in 2009. I was really happy when ‘Graffiti on the Train’ was released a few years ago as it was a big improvement for me, and their latest effort, ‘Keep the Village Alive’ continues in the same direction. ‘I Wanna Get Lost With You’ is a really good track and certainly the one with the highest play count in my iTunes library. Kelly Jones’ vocals are fantastic, as they always are, but that should come as no surprise. I particularly like the high-pitched guitar notes over the verses and at the end of the chorus. It’s a great sound – go listen!

SONG OF THE WEEK #5: ‘November Rain’ by Guns N’ Roses

One of my favourite songs of all time, it starts off like a slow funeral song at the beginning, builds and builds and ends with a loud, guitar squealing like a gleeful toddler on a sugar high, bang (hopefully, unlike a funeral). With news of a possible GnR reunion coming up, this song has seen recent playtime. For me, it’s the best song from either of the two Use Your Illusion albums. It also has, without a doubt, one of Slash’s best solos on this song, and that’s up against competition! Oh, and the video is brilliant. Surely you must have heard it before, but if you’ve somehow not… Here you go!

SONG OF THE WEEK #6: ‘Don’t Count on the Wicked’ by Billy Talent

This year for Christmas I was lucky enough to receive an electric guitar. A very nice electric guitar at that. Honestly, my guitar-playing ability is somewhat… crap. But I’m determined to learn this year. Anyway, this is what I’m aiming for. This song. The guitar is amazing! If I can learn that this year, I’ll be amazed. The drums have a sound that reminds me of Smells Like Teen Spirit, which is never a bad thing (except perhaps in an opera?). The harmony singing these guys have is outstanding too. It’s ultimately a very, very good song from an even better album. I only recently discovered Billy Talent, and I’ve been told their previous material isn’t quite as good, but I’d highly recommend the ‘Dead Silence’ album!

So, that’s me all caught up with my songs of the week! I shall be back later in the coming week with the next installment! Oh, and happy new year!!!

More songs of the week? Right here!

Leave a Reply

