Song of the Week #2: ‘Saint Cecilia’ by Foo Fighters

Here it is! My song of the week section is now officially a serial event. This is the Second Coming (just without all the religious fanfare). Soon this will be viral and before long the Elders of the Internet will be knocking on my door to present me the black box itself (no IT Crowd fans?). Or maybe I’m imagining too much glory for my small-time blog.

This week’s song is from the Foo Fighter’s latest release – the Saint Cecilia EP. First thing’s first: it’s FREE so go get it! Secondly, it’s a great mini release so you won’t regret it. Thirdly, the title track is my song of the week and I’m trying to build a reputable online blog here. So guys, just… Okay?

The EP was released in the aftermath of the tragic events in Paris on 13th November 2015. It was seemingly Dave Grohl and the Foo Fighters’ gesture to those affected by the attacks and to the world as a whole, even if the initial intention of the release was of gratitude to the Foos fans. In Dave Grohl’s own words:

“Perhaps these songs can bring a little light into this sometimes dark world.”

I’m not sure why I picked the title track as the song of the week – they’re all really good! I really can’t pick a standout favourite. My advice is to listen to all five songs and choose for yourself.

You can listen to the entire EP right here on this very page, or go download it for free directly from the Foo Fighters or from iTunes amongst others.

You can also click here to see more of my songs of the week.

One thought on “Song of the Week #2: ‘Saint Cecilia’ by Foo Fighters

Leave a Reply

