RIP Scott Weiland

What else can I say? I think most people are still shocked.

Scott Weiland had many personal and substance problems, but he was one hell of a showman. I was never a huge fan of Stone Temple Pilots, but Velvet Revolver are one of my favourite ever bands. And whilst his vocal range was limited, Weiland’s low, snarling voice made songs like Slither and Fall to Pieces the great songs that they were. I’m a huge Myles Kennedy fan, but his attempts at covering those two songs as part of Slash’s solo band are incomparable to the original versions – no matter his own range.

He had his own unique style – which is a polite way of saying bizarre – but he was entertaining nonetheless. I was always hopeful Velvet Revolver would reunite for even one more tour, but I guess those hopes are shattered somewhat now. The music lives on however.

RIP.

Leave a Reply

